Welcome to the U.S.S. Seattle Blog!

This blog is dedicated to all the men who served aboard the U.S.S. Seattle (AC-11), an armored cruiser that served in the United States Fleet from 1905 – 1946. The Seattle had a very interesting history during her long life, and this blog is my humble attempt to share some of that history with the world. My interest in the Seattle is very personal: my grandfather, Lynnly C. Adams, served on the Seattle from 1917 – 1919 during World War I. I never knew my grandfather as he died a full decade before I was born, but for the past 10 years I have collected photos and artifacts related to the U.S.S. Seattle as a way of honoring his memory. This has been a labor of love, and I hope you enjoy it.

About championhilz

Jeff T. Giambrone is a native of Bolton, Mississippi, and grew up near the Champion Hill Battlefield. He has a B.A. in history from Mississippi State University and an M.A. in history from Mississippi College. He has published four books: BENEATH TORN AND TATTERED FLAGS: A REGIMENTAL HISTORY OF THE 38TH MISSISSIPPI INFANTRY, CSA, VICKSBURG AND THE WAR, which he co-wrote with Gordon Cotton, AN ILLUSTRATED GUIDE TO THE VICKSBURG CAMPAIGN & NATIONAL MILITARY PARK, and his latest, in 2012, REMEMBERING MISSISSIPPI'S CONFEDERATES. In addition Giambrone has written articles for NORTH SOUTH CIVIL WAR MAGAZINE, MILITARY IMAGES MAGAZINE, NORTH SOUTH TRADER'S CIVIL WAR MAGAZINE, and THE CIVIL WAR MONITOR.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Welcome to the U.S.S. Seattle Blog!

  1. aryeh wetherhorn says:

    Lovely phot of the ship in WWI dazzle amouflage!

  2. steve marrinan says:

    my grandfather served from 04/06/1917 until 02/21/1918

    • championhilz says:

      Thanks so much for responding! What was your grandfather’s name, and where did he serve on the ship?

      • steve marrinan says:

        His name was John Costello and all I know is he ended up being chief gunners mate- if it helps his service # was 122-76-51

      • championhilz says:

        Steve, I have a copy of the book “U.S.S. Seattle During the War,” which was published by the ship’s crew in 1919. The book does contain a roster of the crew, and I found your grandfather listed – John Costello, Rank CGM. If you would like a scan of this page, just let me know, and I will send it to you. I also have an extensive photo collection related to the ship, and I do have some pictures of members of the gun crews – I will check and see if I happen to have one of your grandfather. If you want to contact me by email, you can reach me at: championhilz@att.net.

        Jeff

      • steve marrinan says:

        Hi- anything you have would be appreciated, my grandfather died before I was born and there is only one picture of him taken in the late forties holding my sister

      • championhilz says:

        Steve, where was your grandfather from? I could check through some of the newspaper databases I have access to, and see if he is mentioned.

      • steve marrinan says:

        He was from New York City-his last address was in Jamaica, Queens

Leave a Reply

